of cases of juvenile delinquents within the meaning of the federal Juvenile Delinquents Act, and their jurisdiction also extends to those portions of such provincial Acts as the Youth Protection Schools Act, the Quebec Public Charities Act, the Lunatic Asylums Act and the Adoption Act relating to the protection of children.

Court of the Sessions of the Peace.—This Court is a court of record and is composed of a number of judges, not exceeding 25, including one chief justice with residence at Montreal and one chief justice with residence at Quebec. These judges are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council and, besides presiding over the court of the sessions of the peace, they exercise, in criminal and penal matters, such powers as are conferred on them by federal Acts as well as by provincial Acts.

Recorder's Courts.—These courts are municipal courts and are established under the authority of by-laws adopted, as the case may be, by the city or town councils. The recorders are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council.

Commissioners' Courts.—These courts are established by provincial authority. Their original jurisdiction is limited to the matters mentioned in Sect. 59 of the Code of Civil Procedure.

Justices of the Peace.—The justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council and, as such, they have the powers conferred upon them by the Criminal Code and other federal laws and also by the Quebec Summary Conviction Act (R.S.Q. 1941, c. 29) and other provincial Acts.

Ontario.—Supreme Court (R.S.O. 1950, c. 190).—The Supreme Court of Ontario has two divisions, one of which is known as the Court of Appeal for Ontario and the other as the High Court of Justice for Ontario. The Court of Appeal consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of Ontario, and nine other judges. The High Court of Justice consists of a chief justice, who is known as the Chief Justice of the High Court, and 16 other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court of Appeal has general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province and the High Court of Justice has unlimited original jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters.

County and District Courts (R.S.O. 1950, c. 75).—The Province is divided into 48 counties and districts with a county or district court for each county or district and one or more judges for each court. There are 62 judges in all, and they are appointed by the Governor General in Council. These courts have no criminal jurisdiction except on appeal from the decision of magistrates and justices of the peace in summary conviction cases. They have jurisdiction in contracts where the amount claimed does not exceed \$1,200 and jurisdiction in personal property actions where the amount claimed does not exceed \$1,000.

General Sessions of the Peace (R.S.O. 1950, c. 158).—There is a court of general sessions of the peace for each county and district in the Province. In the Counties of York and Wentworth the sittings are held quarterly and in the other counties and districts, semi-annually. The courts are presided over by the Judge of the County Court acting as chairman. They sit with a jury and have jurisdiction to try any indictable offence except those set out in Sect. 583 of the Criminal Code which are within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Superior Courts.